Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off-Campus Library Access: Home

Can I Do Research at Home?

Yes! You do not have to be on campus to access library resources! You can use OneSearch anytime to search across all library resources, including books, electronic books, and articles.  Or, you can go directly to one of our databases through the Databases A-Z page to start your search.  Either way, you will need to log in through the VCCCD Portal to gain access from off-campus.  This page will guide you through the ways you can log in and access library resources from off-campus.

From OC Homepage

1.  From the Oxnard College homepage, hover over "Quick Links" and click on the green "Library" link, then click on the grey "Library" link.  This will take you to the Library homepage.

Library search 1

2.  Next, you can either begin using OneSearch, or select the database you would like to use by going to the Databases A-Z list.

3a.  If you use OneSearch, you will see a yellow bar in your search results page asking you to sign in.  Click on the link to sign in, select the option for VCCCD portal, then log in with your username and password.

3b.  If you select a database directly, you will be prompted to log in through the MyVCCCD portal. Log in with your username and password, and you will be taken directly to the database.

From the MyVCCCD Portal

1. Start at the MyVCCCD portal page, and log in with your username and password.

2. Click on the "Library & Learning Resources" tab.

3. You can now use OneSearch or select a database to use from our Databases A-Z list.

4a. If you use OneSearch, you will need to log in a second time.  In your search results page, you will see a yellow bar asking you to sign in. Click on the link to sign in, select the option for VCCCD portal, then log in once more.

4b. If you select a database, you will go directly to the database and not be prompted to log in again.

 

Need Help?

If you are having trouble accessing any library resources or have questions about your research,
contact a librarian during our open hours at 805-678-5818 or email us anytime at ocreference@vcccd.edu.