To start finding a book, the most important thing to know is the call number. A book's call number is like its address within the library - it tells you exactly where to find a book. The easiest way to find a book's call number is by using the OC library's catalog OneSearch.
1. From the Oxnard College homepage, hover over "Student" and click on the green "Library" link. This will take you to the Library homepage.
2. From the Library homepage, you can begin using OneSearch to locate the book you're searching for.
Enter your search keywords.Type in any keywords related to your book, like the title or the author's name, in the search bar. Click on the "OneSearch" box.
Not finding what you need? You can use the Advanced Search to find your book with more search terms. Remember, the more search terms you include, the more specific your results will be. Click "Search."
3. Once you find the book in the search results, click on the listing to get the call number.
Selecting "Held By Library" as another way to ensure the book you need is located in the OC library.
4. Find and record the call number for the book.
Take a photo of the call number with your phone, or write the number down on a scrap of paper.
5. Once you have the call number, you can find the book in the library. As an academic library, our shelves are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system.
Most books can be found in our main collection in the library stacks on the second floor, but select books are organized in specific sections. The specific collections in Oxnard College Library are: Graphic Novels, Children's books, Over-sized books, Reference books, and Reserve books. Remember to search those sections if the call number or location indicate that.
Examples:
Books located in the main collection will specify Circulating in the catalog location, and not have any special sticker on the book's spine.The main collection is found upstairs on the second floor.
Books located in the graphic novels collection will specify Graphic Novel in the catalog location, and have a GRAPHIC sticker on the book's spine.
Books located in the children's section will specify Juvenile in the location, and will have JUV before the rest of the call number on the book's spine. The children's collection is found upstairs on the second floor.
Books located in the over-sized collection will specify Oversize in the location, and have a Over-sized sticker on the book's spine. The over-sized book collection is found upstairs on the second floor.
Books located in the Reference section will specify Reference in the catalog location, and will have REF before the rest of the call number on the book's spine. The Reference collection is found upstairs on the second floor and are for in-library use only.
Books located in the Reserves section will specify Student Reserve in the catalog location, and will have a the specific class they are used for before the rest of the call number. Some Reserve books may be checked out by students, and the length of time may be indicated with the call number. Please ask someone at the circulation desk to assist you with a book in the Reserves section.
6. Once you have located the correct section, find the shelf that is associated with the first letter(s) and numbers in the call number. From there, all books are organized alphabetically, then numerically, and you can match up the call number.
Remember to sign in to your VCCCD account to request books, see what's available, and get full text content for online resources.
A librarian is always happy to help you find a book.
If you are having trouble accessing any library resources or have questions, you can find a librarian at the Research and Instruction desk during library hours.
You can also reach a librarian by calling 805-678-5818 or emailing ocreference@vcccd.edu.